Wednesday, September 15, 2010

More Trumped Up Charges Withdrawn - Why were they Laid in first place?

Five Methodist ministers are free from court as reversal of trumped up charges gather pace indicating they were unfounded an legally baseless  in the first place.

FBC News - September 15, 2010

The DPP’s office has dropped the charges against five of the nine Methodist Church executives alleged to have breached the Public Emergency Regulation. 

The five are Rev. Apete Toko, Rev Kalivati Ravoka, Sakaraia Koli, Ratu Inoke Seniloli and Livai Tuisaravere.

Charges against the four others Rev Tukilakila Waqairatu, Rev Tomasi Kanailagi, Rev Manasa Lasaro and Rev Ame Tugaue still remain. 

The DPP’s says the church ministers involved have been notified. 

The church executives were charged with organizing meetings in contravention of the Public Emergency Regulation.

Remember the cases below!!

Posted on COUP FOUR POINT FIVE - 28 jULY 2010

More Methodist officials charged

A former vice president of the Methodist Church and the current treasurer were among five Church ministers and officials charged today with participating in a meeting in contravention of the Public Emergency Regulations.

Ratu Inoke Seniloli, who led a delegation that visited Marama Roko Tui Dreketi Ro Teimumu Kepa on July the 19th prompting her to issue a statement confirming the hosting of the Church conference, Treasurer Livai Tuisagavere, Sakaraia Koli, Reverend Apete Koto and Reverend Kalivati Ravoka appeared in the Suva Maistrates Court before magistrate Eparama Rokoika.

The director of Public Prosecutions, John Rabuku, said the Church leaders have not demonstrated good faith in their meetings saying they needed to apply for a permit for every meeting until they show god faith to police and the military.

All have been bailed to re-appear in Court on Friday when it is expected their charges will be amalgamated with those charged last week.

Those already charged include Ro Teimumu, Church President Reverend Ame Tugaue, General Secretary Rev Tuikilakila Waqairatu and former leaders, Rev Manasa Lasaro and Rev Tomasi Kanailagi.

No comments: