Friday, January 18, 2008

Fiji council doomed to fail: NGO

17 JAN 2008

The newly-erected National Council for Building a Better Fiji is doomed to fail, indicated by the lack of public support in its membership, according to Fiji non-government organisation, Pacific Centre for Public Integrity (PCPI).

PCPI executive director Angie Heffernan said the fact that the military interim regime failed to attract additional members of the community, including prominent traditional leaders, and NGO representatives, was a clear sign of the “very little public support”.

The organisation labeled the interim regime’s People’s Charter process a waste of taxpayers’ money and an insult to the citizens of Fiji.

Heffernan said that apart from the process having no public and political credibility, it lacked transparency and accountability.

She added the fact that the names of members of the council were kept secret until its inaugral meeting yesterday clearly demonstrated the secretive way that this interim regime operated, despite the extreme lengths they have gone to publicise this charter process as being an open transparent and people-centred initiative.

“Proceedings from this process will not have any legitimacy or credibility because significant sectors of the community are not represented,” Heffernan said.

She said apart from a few exceptions, the membership of the council came as no surprise as those that have accepted to serve were already known public supporters of the military interim regime and its ideology.

Heffernan said the inclusion of eight interim ministers on the council only indicated that the regime could not find support for the Charter outside its own political circle.

The council, tasked to map out strategies to pull Fiji out of the doldrums following the 2006 military coup, met for the first time yesterday at the Raffles Tradewinds Hotel in Lami, outside Suva.

10 Fiji council positions to remain open
17 JAN 2008

Ten positions in the 45-member National Council for Building a Better Fiji may remain vacant until those who declined the invite to fill them change their minds.

The council now has only 35 confirmed members who will continue with efforts to map the way forward for Fiji regardless.

The council meets again on May 28 after its inaugural meeting yesterday. It is hoped that it will meet its full quota by then.

Ten members of the interim Government and 25 from civil society have so far been confirmed in the council.

The formal list was released by the NCBBF Technical Support Secretariat.

These members have accepted their invitation and will now formulate the People’s Charter for Change and Progress.

The members in the NCBBF are as follows:

1. Co-Chair- Interim Prime Minister – (Interim Government)
Commodore Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama

2. Co-Chair - Archbishop Petero Mataca

3. Arya Pratindhi Sabha of Fiji - President
Kamlesh Arya

4. Minister for Education, National Heritage, Culture and Arts, Youth and Sports - (Interim Government)
Filipe Bole

5. Ra Provincial Council- Chairman
Ratu Meli Bolobolo

6. Minister for Finance, National Planning, Sugar Industry and Public Utilities (Water and Energy) - (Interim Government)
Mahendra Chaudhry

7. Minister for Primary Industries - (Interim Government)
Joketani Cokanasiga (apologies)

8. Minister for Defence, National Security and Immigration - (Interim Government)
Ratu Epeli Ganilau

9. Macuata Provincial Council – Nominee
Ratu Wiliame Maivalili Katonivere

10. Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Electoral Reform, Public Enterprises and Anti-Corruption – (Interim Government)
Aiyaz-Sayed Khaiyum

11. Fiji Labour Party - President
Jokapeci Koroi

12. Serua Provincial Council - Chairman
Atunaisa Lacabuka

13. Social Worker – Labasa
Selina Lee Wah

14. Lomaviti Provincial Council – Chairman
Ratu Jolame Lewanavanua

15. Minister for Health, Women and Social Welfare – (Interim Government)
Dr Jiko Luveni

16. Shree Sanatan Dharm Pratindhi Sabha – President
Dewan Chand Maharaj

17. Women’s Action Committee – President
Peni Moore

18. Minister for Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and Civil Aviation – (Interim Government)
Ratu Epeli Nailatikau

19. Kadavu Provincial Council – Chairman
Ratu Josateki Nawalowalo

20. Fiji Local Government Association – President
Rajeshwar Kumar

21. Bua Provincial Council- Chairman
Ratu Filimoni Ralogaivau

22. Rabi Council of Leaders – Chairman
Teatu Rewi

23. Minister for Industry, Tourism, Trade and Communications – (Interim Government)
Tom Ricketts

24. Council of Rotuma- Chairman
Tarterani Rigamoto

25. Tailevu Provincial Council – Chairman
Josefa Serulagilagi

26. Provincial Youth Forum of the Fiji Islands – Representative
Rupeni Silimaibau

27. Fiji Girmit Council – Representative
Dijendra Singh

28. Minister for Lands, Mineral Resources and Environment – (Interim Government)
Netani Sukanaivalu

29. Media Council (Fiji) Ltd – President
Daryl Tarte

30. Fiji Council of Social Services - President
Lorinne Tevi

31. Fiji Trades Union Congress – President
Daniel Urai

32. Fiji Manufacturers Association- President
Desmond Whiteside

33. Fiji Islands Hotel and Tourism Association – Representative
Patrick Wong

34. Citizens Constitutional Forum- President
Rev. Akuila Yabaki

35. United People’s Party - A/ President
Mick Beddoes

No comments: